“Getting to know someone else involves curiosity about where they have come from, who they are.” ~ Penelope Lively

Take the time to really get to know people. Now, the way I stumbled across this thinking today is due to a bit of a strange situation. Growing up in Taiwan, the teachers are very strict and often very mean. I mean, really really mean. Well, I’m leading a group of Taiwanese kids with their two teachers right now. I don’t pick at the kids for little things, but I do let them know firmly when they misbehave and let them know what appropriate behavior is. It’s funny because as I was sitting there, a teacher was yelling at them for something that is not a big deal at all. Now, this same teacher has been a family friend for about 20 years and she is a delightful person to be around. So, I got to thinking about how I really didn’t like most of my Taiwanese teachers, because they were so mean! But, if I was to see them in a different light, like I do the teacher here that yelled at the students, I might’ve liked them. I believe that when we get to know people for who they are, we will like them. We will understand them. We will be much happier about who’s in our lives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

