“Above all, be true to yourself, and if you cannot put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.” ~Hardy D. Jackson

I finally have some time now that I’ve settled in London. I chose the above quote not so much to talk about being true to your feelings and whatnot, but more about being true to your goals. I’ve been asked recently, frequently, why I have the friends I have. Some of them seem a bit “different.” Some wonder why I keep the friends I do even after they’ve put me through a lot of hardship. Why don’t I give up? Well, I just won’t. When I was a child – nearly a teen – I had decided that I will never let anyone feel like they don’t have a friend in this world. I don’t want anyone to feel the loneliness that I’ve felt before. I don’t want anyone to feel like an outsider or to feel awkward because they don’t quite fit in. I’ve struggled with those things as well and I don’t want anyone to have to feel those things when it’s unnecessary. And quite frankly, those “weirdies” that I call my friends are lovely people. So, I’ve made that goal years ago and I intend to keep it up. So if you have a goal – you keep it up. It doesn’t matter if people question your motives. It doesn’t matter if they disagree. If you’ve made a goal and you know it’s right for you, then you go for it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to ““Above all, be true to yourself, and if you cannot put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.” ~Hardy D. Jackson

  1. Ann Barlow

    And it’s because you are that kind of friend that I love you SO dearly!

  2. Suz

    Can you tell me who Hardy D. Jackson is?

Leave a Reply

