“I’ve never met a person, I don’t care what his condition, in whom I could not see possibilities. I don’t care how much a man may consider himself a failure, I believe in him, for he can change the thing that is wrong in his life any time he is ready and prepared to do it. Whenever he develops the desire, he can take away from his life the thing that is defeating it. The capacity for reformation and change lies within.” ~ Preston Bradley

Identify the enemy, create a strategy, and defeat it! When I say enemy, I mean anything that you want to accomplish and anything that is standing in your way of
accomplishing it.
This could mean a test at school, a presentation at work, or even dinner with the in-laws. My personal enemy is cupcakes. I identified this enemy as 1. Cupcakes (obviously) and 2. my craving for cupcakes at certain points of the day. My strategy is 1. drive a route that makes it inconvenient for me to get a cupcake and 2. eat something healthy when I’m craving. Now, strategies don’t work automatically the first time. I know that when I drive out of the way of a cupcake, I won’t get one, but I noticed that if I eat health food, I’ll only want it more. So, I changed my strategy to fit what I needed. Now I don’t crave cupcakes as much and I definitely don’t buy cupcakes as much either. Last night (my dad’s birthday and my marriage getaway weekend), I was trying to help my friend come up with a good strategy to defeat her enemy (she was going to have a serious conversation with someone). By logically poking holes into her logic, she had to come up with very specific answers to defend her position. She did well until she let her emotions get the better of her. If she wasn’t able to control herself with me (an ally), then how is she going to control herself at enemy lines and defeat it? The same goes for anyone and anything they want to overcome. There are forces working against us at all times, so we must know what they do, how they do it, and how to defeat that. It is much easier to defeat the enemy if we have allies we can practice our strategies on. For a dinner with the in-laws, perhaps the practice would be discussing appropriate dress/conduct/conversation with the spouse. If it’s to quit an addiction, it may be practicing not doing that addiction with people you wouldn’t normally do it with, but have them tempt you, so that when you’re around people who do normally tempt you, you will be able to decline. There are diverse ways to overcoming your enemies and you must use all your resources to beat all the resources the enemy is using.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

