“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

I’m choosing to be happy. Over the past year, there has been so much drama that sometimes I get overwhelmed with emotion. Today was one of those days. I felt like my brother and mother aren’t supporting me. And hey, aren’t families supposed to? It trickled down further into a massive argument where anger is really just the product of deep hurt. Even before today, I was so hurt and angry at my friends for having 1. randomly stopped talking to me when they previously have been so close to me, and 2. doing things behind my back that they obviously knew I wanted to do. But you know what? It’s okay. I work at a hospital as a Recreation Therapist and recently a 78-year-old woman with dementia remembered a really hurtful episode between her husband and her at the beginning of her marriage. She was crying about it. Today, during the family arguments, my mother brought up something rude my father had said to her once more than 24 years ago. It really made me sad and got me thinking…where has all the good memories gone? All the years of being with my family, we have gone through so much, yet I am currently choosing to be extremely worked up over something that will probably blow over? In all the years of my friendship with these people, I have had so many good times and gone over so many bad times as well. I know these friendships will last, just as I know my family will stay together. In all those years of marriage, of blissfulness, the old woman and my parents are focused on that one hurtful thing tucked away forever ago? What about all the good memories? The beautiful poems my father write my mother each year – where are they? They’re displayed, but does she remember them? Does she know them still? Why do we remember all the muck in life? We have had so many blessings given to us and we choose to remember the bad. Forget it. That is absurd! So right now, I am choosing to forgive. I am choosing to let go. I am choosing to serve. I am choosing to remember the joy that these people bring me. And, I am choosing to be happy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

